I guess I do appeal to a certain crowd…


I was gonna blog about how this Indonesia guy I met while diving was being utterly hilarious. At the same time, I was stalking  browsing through a new friend’s blog (are we friends if I don’t know the colour of his eyes?) and this is what he posted on his blogroll.

Charmaine Tai – Awesome Singaporean I met in Indonesia. Blogs about travel. And dudes.

The first thing that came to my mind was “OI SIMILANJIAO?” which loosely translates to… “Oi, what penis is this?” I don’t only blog about travelling and guys, what. Then again, this was just gonna prove him right. There’s no winning, aye? Then again, he called me awesome. hahahaha.

Let’s call Indonesian guy… H. Ever since I got back to Sg, we’ve been talking on Fb, mostly exchanging pleasantaries.

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 10.22.09 Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 10.22.18 Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 10.23.09

I used to think that ‘cheers’ meant.. a literal cheer when people drank. And in Melbourne, I learnt that it meant ‘thanks’. That said, I don’t know what he meant when he said ‘cheers’ because who wants to be known as a sweet talker? Ok moving on, we were talking about my dive school in Gili T and how they moved to a bigger and better location. And how I planned to continue my dive education.

Then I decided to just cut it short (in a polite way).

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 10.23.24

Guess it didn’t work…

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 10.24.18

side note. lust night. lust… walau. another similanjiao moment there.

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 10.24.39

Aye, he gave me a rose. I’m sold. hahaha. But then he got bolder…

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 10.55.49

And so I decided to pull… the parent card.

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 11.01.23

But H was going strong man. Gotta give him a pat on his back when I next see him.

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 11.02.27

So if he can’t stay with me.. we should both move to Malaysia. Right, because that’s where I want to live my next 40 years of my life. and that winky face…

Well it got me wondering.. out loud. being straightforward always pays off.

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 11.03.28

No really, why?! Cos you saw me in my swimwear? Cos I’m Chinese, but I look Indonesian? Because I’m funny? (If I am, just laugh at my jokes!)

But I probably met my match…

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 11.07.30

Got the ultimate reply. They say that some feelings can’t be put into words.. but I guess this one can.

Laughed so hard at this I had to explain to my mom what was going on… to which #scumbagmom replied, “See, who says nobody likes you???”

Okay thanks mom, I shall pack my bags and fly to find the love of my life in Gili Trawangan. Because I was born to make someone’s ‘hard’ go ‘duk dak duk dak’.

Don’t even get me started on the word ‘hard’…

Anyway, this was my reply…

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at PM 11.15.26

Yup, the queen of #statingtheobvious is back in the game.

Side note: I should also remember that during one of our dives, at the sandy area underwater, H tried to draw a heart shape out on the sand for me. To which I promptly used my stubby fingers to mess it up (before he could complete it) and then swam away.

Way to go with dealing with awkward situations. Why do people do such things?? Do they not realise how pressurising (geddit geddit??) it is underwater? HAHAHAH.

Side note:  This is probably why I’m single (yah, because I blog about guys when they tell me they like me haha), and it’s also probably why I think it’s not possible for me to be with someone who doesn’t speak… near-perfect English. Apart from language being part of culture, I just don’t see me holding an argument that wouldn’t involve correcting his grammatical/spelling/morphological errors…

It reminds me of the time Victor asked me what the difference between ‘beach’ and ‘bitch’ was, and I explained to him the stressing of the vowels. And he promptly pointed to a passerby and called her a bitch. Can’t quite figure if I was proud of him, or if I wanted to die on the spot…

 

Leave a Reply

