Cooped up in our own little world


IM BACK!!!

So I’ve been gone for so long. I’ve so many things I wanna write about but I don’t have much free time.

I travel for at least 2.5-3 hours each day, and by the time I’m home I’m knackered. I’ve stopped having time to exercise. The earliest I get home is at 7.15pm, and even then it probably happens once every two weeks. I can’t remember when I last saw the sun set

So today the bus was fairly packed. I was standing at the section where there were 4 seats, 2 facing the other2. There was a pregnant woman beside me. 3 seats were filled, and there was an empty seat on the inner row. The lady on the outside was oblivious. Or maybe nonchalant. She had earphones in. The other 2 men were just.. Well they didn’t seem bothered.

I don’t know.

Anyway, I waited for the bus to stop moving (at the next stop) before I tapped the lady on her arm and asked her to move. She scooted in, and the pregnant lady told me “oh don’t need, it’s ok…”

Sigh.
So many comments in my head.

1) Nonchalance baffles me
The two guys obviously saw the pregnant women but didn’t wanna give their seat up for her. They even gazed at her, then continued to mind their own business. Why would you do that?? At least move to the seat by the window so she can sit by the aisle? Not too difficult right? If you had your heavily pregnant wife on the bus, you’d want others to give up their seat for her! It’s a helpless foetus..! It can cling onto the umbilical cord for support, but no use if it’s “housing” falls yah?

2) Most people are too busy in their own world to notice things
They’re glued to their phones in the bus. Me included, cos that’s how I’m stealing time to blog. I love bus rides because they allow me to look outside the window and gaze. I’m reminded that there’s so much out there. We may not have autumn but two trees on AYE near Warwick road have been shedding red leaves. That’s such a pretty sight! Oh wait, lady on the bus just said excuse me cos she wanted to move and I was kinda blockin her. See what I mean by being too absorbed in our own world, we fail to recognise the needs of others?

3) People shouldn’t be afraid to ask for help
If you need a seat, ask. Don’t be shy, seats were made to be sat on, they’d be happy to be used! Plus, she actually said “don’t need”. EH Y U SO LIDDAT WAN? I risked getting scolded by a potentially angry woman then you so buay steady (which is kinda literal cos she was swaying on the bus hahahah). You’re so far into the journey (getting to work and being pregnant), don’t take any chances!

Ok that’s all for now, bye!

Leave a Reply

