Daily Archives: March 21, 2015

CNY 2015

Lots of food. Too much food, actually.

Let’s start with reunion dinner on 18 Feb.

Time to prepare poh piah from scratch. I really enjoy making poh piah, maybe enxt time I will take 1/2 day in the morn and just stay home to make food. Wtf big dreams, wanna be housewife.
IMG_0974

Pot of turnip.. which would be recuded by 2/3 after cooking. how cool.
IMG_0972

And then all the prawn shells.. to fry and get their juices..IMG_0973

We also had a mountain of eggs..IMG_0969

 

I didn’t slog in the kitchen lah. I was reading 50 shades of grey loloolol. Only because everything was done. I only peeled the eggs and sliced them.. I wasn’t allowed in the kitchen )= and I got home too late, so everything had been grated. Sad.
IMG_0980

We had a lot of fun making an eating poh piah. I really love the skin! And the turnip, the fried bits of flour (instead of peanuts), prawns (which many hawkers omit due to cost, and this affects their turnip too cos they don’t have the prawn juice.. )

Reunion dinner is always an open-house affair where we invite family/friends who don’t celebrate CNY to come over and eat.. or if they’re single and everyone else has their own reunion dinner. I like it this way actually, since friends make up a big part of our lives. I’ll continue this tradition when I have my own home..

Star of the night: char siew pao!IMG_0480

Speks from my camera phone which can’t be removed. Anyway, we went for a jog, and it was so tiring co sI had to jog realllll slow. As if I’m not slow enough, char siew pao is dam unfit and fat lah!! We ran from my house to the main road and he charged at full speed but then he died after that. -_-

Sitting and then begging for food..

IMG_0484

Look how cute he is!! sticking his tongue out and he looks so displeasd lah. char siew pao why you so childish?IMG_0486

Ok he looks happier here..IMG_0489

 

And then gotta give him some love otherwise he feels super left out, like always wants to be in the middle of the convo.. So I carried him and he sat on my lap..IMG_0992

Does anyone else think he looks like a piece of crispy chicken from KFC? Like, last time KFC had these thin strips of chicken.. and his fur is like the coating of the chicken hahahahaha.

IMG_0985

char siew pao giving up on life. I kept carrying him and swinging him.. so after I came back from my jog, I had dinner (didn’t even shower lolol) with everyone, then brought him out for his after-dinner walk, where he pooped. Always good to poop..

IMG_0987

Next day, this was us:IMG_0510

It was my most CBF cny… tied my hair up, wore a t shirt (ordered online specially for CNY ok). couldn’t stop looking at my shirt thinking.. wow i am so funny. -_- And then I wore socks. HAHA.

Look at all of us… so happy, and I was eating all the peanuts..
IMG_0508

 

Closer look at my amazing socks courtesy of andrea.IMG_0514

One of the omes we visited, sparky the dog~~ Unfortunately their golden retriever passed away from cancer. :/ super manja lah the dog. my dad decided to play vet finding ticks lol. he found none.
IMG_0565

And this is sparky looking so attentively at me because I have food..IMG_0569_2

Sometimes I think I’ll be an amazing dog owner, but pictures like this prove otherwise… sparky also wanna give up on life i think. ahhaha.IMG_0570

she followed me everywhere I went. how adorable. If I had a dog I dont think I’ll leave home…IMG_0572

look at sparky. going over to isaac hearing him play the piano.. plot twist: isaac doesn’t know how to play the piano.IMG_0573

IMG_0574

There’s another dog here, which I forgot the name. oops. But I saw her running around in the backyard and decided to chase her. She was sooo afraid of me omg.. )= damn sad. my dog whisperer moments were over.IMG_0595

She ran and I kinda chased her for 10mins (the house is at least 5 times the size of mine…) and then she’d sniff me and run away.. so I  kinda cornered her and won the battle. poor girl was shaking..

first I just patted her, then I Took her on my lap and started cuddling her.. giving her pats and then talking to her, then after that I carried her around the house.. ahhh. she didn’t bark at all just was so afraid of me..

Anyway, we went back to the same house for dinner at night, and this is what I wore: a red lacey top that’s very CNY-ish.

IMG_0519

Oh, of course I went to find the poor dog again and I think she remembered me cos she didn’t try to run away that much.. then when I stopped playing with her, I stood up and the started to hug my leg, and then sat down. Wtf heart break please. So I sat down again and played with her.. so manja.. must be true love because i didn’t have food with me.. The way she hugged my leg was just do heartbreaking. She’d stand on her back legs and hug my leg, placing her cheek on my calf and then just staying in that position till I sat down..

When I was leaving, I talked to the owner’s sister, and found out that this dog had previously ben abused.. so much till her bones are dented. and last year they picked her up from the dog pound, and no one could go near her. </3 And then she was very surprised to see me carrying the dog and walking around (wtf as if it’s my dog hahaha) cos nobody really gets to carry her cos she’s always running away.

Hai. dog stories. who could abuse a pretty dog like that. I know you just saw her butt from the pic.. but man, that dog is so lovely. .

On to happier moments. another reunion dinner (yea chinese love to eat, we love any reason to celebrate with food). Look at the spread! there was also soup.. haha. and a heap of vegetable dishes, dumplings, prawns, chicken wings…

IMG_0534

IMG_0536

chef of the night. I went over to help her prepare food in the morning. Bought ingredients, chopped vegetables up, took care of her hamsters, tried to clean the prawns and pluck their heads but I started tearing because I’m that big of a loser.. These were live prawns that were happily swimming in the tank before the man caught them and then put them into a plastic bag. And I couldn’t stand the idea of decapitating the prawn. :/ and touch raw meat too..

see all of them here.. after dinner and a movie on tv, they sat on the floor and started gambling.IMG_0535

IMG_0540

IMG_0539

Happy chef and happy assistant.IMG_0543

What I consider a huge family gathering. hahahah.IMG_0549

So.. That’s my CNY. Sometimes I think.. man… I wish I knew Cantonese greetings, the way they deliver the greetings is really cool lah. being fluent in canto and all.. and there I am just saying “Happy New Year” which doesn’t mean anything compared to the cheng yu.. about working hard, playing hard, studying hard, having fortune, happiness in home etc…

Gotta do something about it man, culture erosion is happening faster than ever…

 

je taime

They say I sometimes don’t know when to shut up, and I can testify that.. it’s a 100% true.

Because I always tend to fuck things up with my words.. Like in this case…

So on 16 Feb I saw roses on the table and I was like.. Wow Andrea.. someone give you flowers to welcome you home ah? ha.ha.ha. of all things to give you.. flowers.. so not practical..

And then I realised it was for me wtf. Well there were 3 roses inside, a teddy bear… a card. And I was like OMG I GOT FLOWERS HAHAHAH WHAT A JOKE.. WHO WOULD GIVE ME FLOWERS? AND A BEAR?

Well, turns out.. Cyril would. Uh. Shy was at my house and we were talking about my dislike for flowers and toys so… I was like. Man.. it’s a rly nice thought. Cyril sent me flowers, and a bear (which had a rope around its neck, poor bear).

So I thanked him for the thought…

IMG_0454

And then also stupidly told him I actually didn’t like flowers or bears. -_-

ok shoot me please.

I guess the thought in my head was… I don’t want him to keep wasting money sending me stuff like that! kinda cheesy (and not in a.. ‘cheesy charbby’ way where it’s an inside joke?).. guess it didn’t help that shy and andrea were practical as hell, and we shared the same sentiments, wondering if my boyfriend knew what I liked/disliked..

It’s not a classic case of being ungrateful, but more of, what if you see a future with someone, and the person doesn’t know what you like/dislike, and then they just keep giving you stuff lol. then how?

Yes so my big mouth got me into trouble lah, Cyril got so upset. And rightfully so. He got some intl company to deliver the roses and on 14 feb they said they ran out of roses wtf. and he paid extra $$ for them to be delivered on the 14th.. and then the bear he ordered wasn’t the one I received.. Well, that one.. uhh. pictures always only for show what!

And cos he never did such things before, and the first time he did it for someone.. was for someone like me. so undeserving wtf. Also, I didn’t get him anything for Valentine’s Day (me being… me). So can you imagine how many knives I stabbed him with? I felt really bad.

side note: Shame on your Flower Advisor for not giving the man what he ordered (the bear, and fucking up the delivery timing)

Negative things aside, the roses were one of the prettiest I’ve seen. Very uhh.. nicely shaped. perfectly shaped if I may say. petals didn’t spread out too much, and there was this nice bell shape.

IMG_0456

My fav rose out of the three. Yes I have favoritism lah ahahaha.IMG_0463

Saved the bear from her misery.IMG_0464

IMG_0465

So amidst the fail-girlfriend I am, I asked Cyril why he sent me three roses (stands for I lLove You or what, cheesy right ahahaha) and a bear..

His reasoning (enough to make me want to jump off a cliff):
roses: one for each month we have been apart.
bear: you have so many toys by your bed. Also, you kept trying to find a friend for Brown (one half of my then-uncompleted Brown and Cony), so I thought this bear would become Brown’s friend.

Also, he said. I know you don’t like roses, or flowers. But it’s very important in our French culture. It’s our way of showing the other party how much they mean to us.

Who’s the worst girlfriend of the year? Confirm me lor.

Brought my flowers to my room and put them in my study. They were so disappointed they just hung their heads whenever they saw me. SORRY FLOWERS… )=

IMG_0498

Anyway, at the back you can see a blue box. There’s a blue glass angel inside. And since we’re on the issue of me having 0 EQ, let me tell you about the story…

So the day Cyril left, he gave the blue angel to me..
Me: Uhhh what is this for..
Cyril: It’s for you…
Me: But.. what does it do. Uhh is it a necklace or yknow.. or does it just sit there

Hai. Didnd’t know how to react because.. What do I do with it!! I swear, I go diving and then washed off the last ounce of EQ on me.

Then he explained he got that for me because he wanted someone/something to accompany me / look over me / look after me while he was gone, and blue because, well I like blue. And what did I get him when he left? NOTHING. Because I’m the dumbfuck that I am…

Obligatory -facepalm- flowers. All giving up hope on me one by one…

IMG_0499

I decided to dry the flowers because I quite liked their shape, and I didn’t want to throw them away. See what I mean, they just.. die on me.. wtf. I also cracked an inappropriate joke with Cyril a few days later, saying the flowers represented our love. confirm die one. ahahhaha.

Anyway: project drying.

Hung them upside down and yay! few days later got three beautiful dark roses.

IMG_0614
In much better lightingIMG_1002

IMG_1003

They’re much darker in real life, they’re still surviving lah I guess.. I toyed with the idea of making tea with them but my sister said the chemicals on the flowers will just kill me.. and it made me think of a second dark inappropriate joke.. our love is like the flowers.. it’ll just kill me in the end. HAHAHA.

Ok lah, after that eventful night I learnt to shut up. But then hor, I also wanna think of how to draw the line between being frank and just saying thank you. Anyway, that’s the last time I’ll be receiving flowers rom Cyril lah. Or a bear.. hahaah. But thank you for sending them to me, and sorry for being a shitty girlfriend. :/

Not like sorry got cure, but I felt really bad when I called him and he looked so upset with me. Haiii. Ok let’s move on from such a depressing topic.